What can I see?

In The Little Book of Contemplative Photography, the author, Howard Zehr, suggests an exercise that I find very helpful, especially to enhance my understanding of  images  –  including my own.  He suggests that once a week we spend at least 10 minutes with a selected photograph and then, he instructs;

‘As you do, consider three topics in this order:

1   I see (Describe: examine each object, each detail, the light etc.  The associate: what are you reminded of by the shapes, juxtapositions etc?)

2   I feel (What do you feel as you look at the image?)

3   I think (Interpret and analyse)’

Obviously it is intended that the sequence can be applied to any photograph or work of art (or, indeed, any aspect of life!) but, for now, I invite you to examine the two pictures of the small sculpture below:

I recommend Zehr’s book.  It is a slim volume, cheap, and includes a number of useful exercises.

4 Comments

Filed under Imaginings, Just think about it!, Minimalist, Pattern, photography, Texture, Thoughts, Uncategorized

4 responses to “What can I see?

  1. From a grotesque nut (image 1) to sympathy for a human in pain.

  2. Thanks Elena. That’s interesting. I imagine the sculptor followed a not dissimilar path.

  3. My copy of the ‘Little Book’ should be winging it’s way to me any day now. Hopefully it’ll get my creative juices running!

Leave a Reply

