Barbed wire

The photographer Elliott Erwitt wrote, ‘Photography has little to do with the things you see and everything to do with the way you see them.’  It is an observation that can be appropriately applied to the images below.

There is a length of barbed wire  –  perhaps four metres  –  topping the fence that links my garden fence to the neighbouring farm gate post.  Its original purpose is no longer relevant  — the animals have been moved elsewhere.  I have great difficulty in seeing the wire now as an expression of aggressive intent.  I am attracted by the twisting of the strands, by the sculpted shapes of the barbed knots and by the possibilities of using these elements to create patterns.

11 Comments

Filed under Abstract photos, Minimalist, Pattern, photography, Quotations, Texture, Uncategorized

11 responses to “Barbed wire

  1. One of my favorite posts-such and ordinary thing yet you’ve shown it so FULL of intent, full of interpretation and expression!

  2. Thank you Elena. I appreciate those comments.

  3. Pingback: Abstract 134 ‘Getting to the point’ | Louis' Page

  4. These are beautiful – individually and together, and with your explanation. The last one is looking like it wants to burst out of the frame, isn’t it? I’ve taken pictures of barbed wire, too, just because it’s so powerful graphically.

  5. I agree with you. I felt the clarity of line and strength of purpose were the essential characteristics of the subject

  6. Gigi Galore

    I am glad you have great difficulty seeing something unfriendly. I think I know what you mean. There is innocence, you become attached.Your pictures are divine. 🙂

  7. Thank you Gigi. I find beauty/ elegance/ simple clarity in design so much more appealing than negative aggression.

  8. Very strong and effective images, Louis.

  9. Thanks Karen I was absorbed by the sculptural qualities of the wire.

  10. Great shots! I love the way that you have created art out of something so mundane and, at first sight, pretty unappealing. Think I’ll have a go myself 🙂

  11. Thanks Noeline. I thoroughly enjoyed playing with this – I particularly enjoy shapes, textures and patterns and the use of space.

Leave a Reply

