Rainy afternoon

I had promised myself a quiet walk along the bridle way, taking photographs as I strolled through the countryside.  But before I could get out and about the weather changed.  In place of the early sunshine it became wet and windy  –  quite unpleasant generally.  So I was left sitting indoors, a grumpy, frustrated photographer.  But all was not lost.  I could take outdoor shots without subjecting myself to the dreadful conditions out there.

By pointing my camera at the tree tops outside the window and then adjusting the focus to give emphasis to the raindrops on the window pane I produced a series of marble-like abstract images.

Then, through the side window, I used the same technique on the trees further away, at the bottom of the garden.  The result was obviously different, but I quite liked it.

Finally I adjusted the focus to concentrate totally on my ‘faraway tree’.  Unfortunately it was not possible to avoid entirely the presence of the raindrops, but a little assistance from the saturation filter helped to create a pleasant ‘painterly’ result.  And I was still dry and warm!

7 Comments

Filed under Abstract photos, Colour, Nature, Pattern, photography, Sunlight, Texture, Trees, Uncategorized

7 responses to “Rainy afternoon

  1. rynnasaryonnah

    I do like the “painterly result!!

  2. Interesting studies all! The last three are favorites.

  3. Gigi Galore

    Oh so beautiful, all of them. I particularly like the wet ones. From you must live in Britain … 🙂 hehe!!!

Leave a Reply

